Jesus is My Game Boy

Originally posted on PeaceGrooves:

I’ve noticed an alarming trend in churches. I look around during worship and I see children or youth playing their Game Boys. I remember when I was a child that I used to do other things in church than sit still and listen, but there is something to me that is different than doodling with a pen or pencil because my ears and most of my senses are still available. A video game is pretty self-absorbing. I struggle with parents allowing their children to play their Game Boy even if it is a way to keep them occupied and quiet during the service. What makes church any different than any other place where they can play the game? I’m also troubled when I see youth more engaged in a game than worship. Shouldn’t church be an opportunity for all of us to take a Sabbath from the technology that permeates…

View original 244 more words

Leave a Reply

