Let Me Tell You That I Miss You

Have you ever seen the look on a young mother’s face watching her little boy as the ambulance takes him away, his daddy sitting in the front seat with a blank stare on his face?

Why do we run from what we are afraid of? Let me tell you that I miss you.

Have you ever seen the look on a woman’s face walking down the street and a man calls her, “Babe,” feeling those eyes with teeth on her body every single day.

Why do we run from what we are afraid of? Let me tell you that I miss you.

I see a million people looking for a home and every face I see is a prism of someone alone. We’re all looking for a refuge from a storm and a key to unlock its door.

Why do we run from what we are afraid of? Let me tell you that I miss you.

Have you ever seen the look on a homeless man’s face, forced to beg and ask you for change? Still you lie and walk on, not wanting to face his pain.

Why do we run from what we are afraid of? Let me tell you that I miss you.

When I was a child I spoke as a child. Now that I am a man I put away childish things. Now that I am a man I want my child back again.

Why do we run from what we are afraid of? Let me tell you that I miss you.

That little boy is going to be okay but I wonder about the ones I see everyday. In the ocean of your eyes I see an orphan in disguise.

Stop running from what you’re afraid of. I promise that I will stop running too.

June 2, 1991

~ by peacegroover on June 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

