Rain (Monday Monday Song #36)

image

We finally got some rain yesterday after it had been dry around here for some time. This song seemed apropos.

I’m walking home in the rain.
I’m walking home in the rain.
The city shines like jewels on the velvet of the night.
I’m walking home in the rain.

Streetlights fall shimmering on the pavement turned to glass.
I’m walking in the mist, thinking about my past.

I’m walking home in the rain.
I’m walking home in the rain.
The city shines like jewels on the velvet of the night.
I’m walking home in the rain.

I hear it singing on the leaves of the tree.
I feel it gently washing the dust from me.

I’m walking home in the rain.
I’m walking home in the rain.
The city shines like jewels on the velvet of the night.
I’m walking home in the rain.

The frog and cricket sing their lullaby.
I know I’ll still hear their music when I close my eyes.

August 8, 1989

Leave a Reply

