Landing – Destination

image

We left in the day,
arrived at night,
day and night,
night and day,
the differences
between our
two worlds
so great and yet
we are so much alike,
you and I,
planets ourselves
with our own orbiting stars.

The wing of this great
metal bird reflects the
white glow of the moon.
You will see it soon.
In two hours,
when I reach my house,
it will rise above yours,
a bright circle of connection.

The tires kiss the earth.
I alight in another place of lights and sounds now strange and unfamiliar.
I look for a friendly face,
some comfort, some sign
that this is home,
but my eyes see only
the headlights of the
passing cars.

Written August 19, 1997
(Upon my return from Guatemala)

Leave a Reply

