Lover (Monday Monday Song 42)

image

I wish it could last forever, but forever is a dream. I felt the water washing my feet when I waded in your stream. Now I find that I’ve got to leave this river behind.

Thank you. Goodbye. Hello again. Thank you. Goodbye. Hello again, my friend.

Please say you won’t forget me and all of the times we shared, all of the places where you touched me, your fingers running through my hair.
Now I find that I’m leaving a piece of my heart behind.

Thank you. Goodbye. Hello again. Thank you. Goodbye. Hello again, my friend.

So now we sit here together crying our tears. I think we’re going to make our own river and I wonder what happened to my fears.
Now I find that I’m leaving some of my night behind.

Thank you. Goodbye. Hello again. Thank you. Goodbye. Hello again, my friend.

(Written June 21, 1991 for the WSSY people – 25 years ago – wow!)

Leave a Reply

