A Parking Meter Filled With Grace

image

We are moving and in the midst of the stress that comes with transition, grace often comes in small ways. Like a parking meter for instance.

In our small town meters a dime equals an hour and a quarter 2 and a half. In the general parking lot, you can park all day for 50 cents. A year permit costs $100 and while I would never spend that amount on change for meters in a year, I bought one for convenience sake. I’d get busy at work, forget to feed the meter and wind up with a ticket. It is only $5, $10 if not paid in 24 hours, but it’s the hassle and the visceral shock that comes with seeing something pink underneath the windshield wiper of the car. Since we are leaving, I did not renew the permit when it ran out a few months ago. So it was back to feeding the parking meter with change.

Now it seems the meter is feeding me. I usually park at the same place because it is the closest 8 hour meter to the office door. Originally I thought a kind soul was putting money into the meter to save me 5 bucks (maybe someone is). It finally dawned on me that somehow the coin I put in at the beginning of the week is magical because the meter has stayed on 3 and a half hours.

Now perhaps the meter maid will wise up and give it a bang and I’ll go back to scrambling to find change. My honesty meter (which needs no change) tells me I should check it out before I leave today and help the city out so I probably will.

Gifts come in all shapes and sizes. One needs only eyes to see. Who knows what next week will hold. But this week it has been nice for a little while at least to have one less thing to worry about.

And to have my own little parking meter filled with grace.

October 5, 2007

1 Comment

  1. I banged on it and it didn’t change though this morning when I arrived the red flag was up so I guess it was fixed over the weekend.

    Another reminder that I should always be on the lookout for grace and never take it for granted. It appears, disappears, and reappears so quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

