When You Are Away I Am Lost

image

When you are away I am lost.

It is a strange thing this feeling.
I was single for so long and you would think after five years with you
I would be used to your absences.
Yet the opposite is true.

I stay busy so I do not worry when you are in the air.
Your message that you have arrived safely gives me great relief.
Within I alight on more solid ground too.

Our nightly phone calls help
But I realize that I am not as independent as I thought I was
and that I do not mind the difference.

For a precious piece of myself now resides in you.

August 19, 2008

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

