On The Piece Before This

(a glimpse into my process)

I awoke in the darkness. I walked down the stairs in the darkness. I fed the bunny, put her in her cage, let the dogs out of their room, fed them, let them outside, let them back in and went to my writing chair, all in the darkness.

My original title was “the shadows of the predawn.” I began to write. The words flowed out of my angst, ending with unexpected hope and the line “the regular sun.”  So I changed the title to those last three words and posted the piece with the photo below.

image

As the morning continued, I went through my routine still somewhat lethargic, but moving within the turning on of lights. Then it was time to take the dogs on their morning walk. This is what I saw:

image

a remarkable morning sky and the dawning of the regular sun. So I switched the photos.

Is it too much to believe that in our insignificance, the universe responds to our honest cry?

As a former pastor once said, and probably still says every Sunday morning, “Life is hard but grace abounds.”

Leave a Reply

