Man in Chains

I am a man in chains,
my birth into a nation my jail,
for its boundaries are invisible walls
between me and another nation’s hell.

Is there not some place,
an island in the sea,
where a man is born with no national ties,
where he is truly free?

I’d sail away, far, far away,
and make a home,
to be content with my beliefs,
to dream, work, and think alone.

But a wind of storm shatters
the ship of this dream,
for isolated from the world
any contribution of mine is lost in the stream.

So I’m stuck with these chains,
enslaved to a higher call,
to take the Cross to all the world
regardless of national walls.

(Journal Entry – October 18, 1986)

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

