When Mortal Flesh Doth Shout

image

God put me in this skin,
Opened me up and poured me in.
It’s not like I had a choice
and even so would I have dared to voice
my opinion?

I am forever stuck with me,
glued to my idiosyncrasies,
the jagged edges and healing scars,
the beauty that so often mars
my ugly personality.

I am simply put, a stone stew,
where all manner of ingredients have accrued,
or perhaps more like a church potluck,
though one where Providence has run amok
to create a feast for you.

This is my mess of flesh and bone,
but it’s not the only mess I own.
I’ve got God to thank for that you see
for creating this crazy human family
where none of us were born to walk alone.

Leave a Reply

