The Solace of the Simple

image

When I am struck with what I do not understand
I find comfort in the mundane.
I drive carefully through the rain.
I listen to my child’s chatter about school.
I drop her off at the carpool.
I read over her shopping list.

I give my lover a good-bye kiss
and take a little longer to look into her eyes.

I pray.
I ask that I do not become what I despise.
The dogs are impatient for their walk.

Later today I am scheduled to have a talk
about spiritual things and school progress.
Then I will do my best
to apply the lessons of my elders to wood inlay.
I will pray.
I’ll get supper ready and enter into an evening of homework, conversations, maybe some Netflix.
Then I’ll walk the dogs again through the wet leaves and fallen sticks.

I don’t know if the world is radically changed by any of this,
but somehow it gives me solace.

Leave a Reply

