Monday Monday Song 51 – Gotta Try

I thought things were changing when the walls kept coming down.
It seems like we always build new ones to take their place.

Why do we always need somebody to hate?
I wonder if we’ll ever learn to love or will it be too late? Gotta try.

It’s not easy being young with a war hanging over your head. If I’m going to die, I want to die for something that’s worth me being dead.

I don’t care what they say I’m not going to fight
because what will my children say about me if I don’t do what’s right.
Gotta try.

Killing somebody for gasoline now it don’t seem right to me.
Poor people fighting rich people’s war and they call this the land of the free

While right here in my city they’re falling like flies
yet we spend our money on bullets instead of saving lives. Gotta try.

We still have a few more days before it gets too late
to stop a war that we cannot win with a price too high to pay.

Maybe if we work together we’ll find a better way
to solve our problems without grabbing a gun and blowing somebody away.
Gotta try.

December 6, 1990

Leave a Reply

