The Shapers

Last night I dreamed the Shapers came around again.
They dropped by the cottage as we were sitting down to dinner.
I invited them in.

Jesus and I laughed about the first time I gave my life to him down deep inside a sleeping bag trying to make the tears come while my mocking friend pulled the covers back to see what I was doing. It was he who had told me that I could not eat the Lord’s Supper unless I was born again.

A rocky start I guess, but honored nonetheless. Jesus loved me for who I am.
And I began the learning
To love myself and everyone around me,
It and I always turning, turning from truth and back again.
Jesus loved me for who I am.
I still do, he said.
My Shapers and I bowed our heads in silence while
the Prince of Peace broke the bread.

After grace, I turned to Dr. King.
“I’m Martin to my friends.”
He pointed at his head and then they all showed me the
places where the bullets and the nails had gone in.
Loving your enemy is no guarantee he will reciprocate
or give love back again.
I used to wonder whether I would go up and out like
Martin.

I grew up in Mississippi and I met him though his people,
still getting use to the changes,
showing patience with the foot draggers,
paying no mind to the word daggers, the tut-tutters and
finger wagers,
so willing to forgive and forget.
Martin smiled. “I have a dream,” he said.
“And the dream ain’t done being dreamed yet.”

Next I spoke to Gandhi.
“Please pass the Satyagraha.
I need some more spices from the mouth of the Mahatma.”
So we spoke of truth and love, with a dab of philosophy,
how the tooth for tooth just leaves everyone’s mouths
empty.
“Did you like Ben Kingsley and the length of the movie?”
“Not bad,” Mohandas smiled. “Though I would have made
it shorter with a little less of me.”

My church saw the movie together.
I was young, and it was long, but my life was changed
forever.
I remember how I cried,
how it felt to be with the adults outside
at intermission talking peace to the cool Southern night air.
I’m still figuring out how to be salt of the earth and
where.

“How are you, Romero?” I asked.
“I’m well,” he replied.
I told him of the time I spent at the church where he died,
how I wore a black cross around my neck for years
in solidarity with his people, who shared their hopes and
fears with a naive college student, how we cried and
laughed,
how reading Exodus could make you disappear,
how the soldiers who killed the priests shot up his
photograph. “Monsignor, you were more alive dead than
you were before.”
To which he said, “My son,
that is the essence of resurrection.”

After that I spoke to Menno and thanked him for my
heritage. “I would gladly have been martyred like these,”
he said. “But I did not have the privilege.”
“How does a mortal, fearful man have such courage?”
I asked.
“Be faithful. Life is in God’s hands.
Do not take upon yourself what is the Creator’s task.”

After too short a time, it seemed,
they pushed back their chairs to take their leave from my
dream.
“We have far to travel yet,” Jesus said. “And many more
Shaped to see.”
So I bidst them farewell and thanked them for their lives.
They laughed and laid their hands on me.
“Freely given, child, freely receive.”

When I awoke, I lay still for awhile and listened to her
breathe,
this woman whom I’ve known for a short time who is
already shaping me
with her love, encouragement, and commitment to peace
in our lives together and communities.

I thought of Mom and Dad, my friends and my family,
the shapers I carry inside from their stability,
the learnings and the laughings,
and our shared history.

These are my Shapers, the makers of me,
the famous and the not so well known
who have scribed these patterns on my bones.
There are many, many more unmentioned, and more shapes
for me to see,
for I am a grateful man who contains a wonderful
geometry.

September 2003

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

