Stumbling In The Dark

Here I am again, stumbling in the dark,
walking on the old road beneath the
heavy trees from the summer camp and the
noise of children to my empty cottage
just over the next ridge.

I have left behind the loudness of the light,
choosing instead to walk unencumbered into the
velvet depths of the darkness as I have done on
many other nights,

Seeing what I have not seen before,
hearing sounds strange to my ear,
facing myself and fears that are not
illumined by the sun and only lit by the
shadows here
where I am again,
stumbling in the dark.

(Thoughts during Advent Retreat December 13, 2003)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

