Today I Walked The One Left Behind

Today I walked the one left behind
he having proven on countless occasions through chewed muzzles cages and such that he cannot travel or join the other two on vacation trips

medicated to alleviate some of the angst yet he still struggles with self control
affectionate and sweet to
those of us who love and care for him

even with his issues we continue to show grace
nor would we ever abandon him

I arrive to find him alone in a dark house
excited to see me
confused I’m sure as to why he must remain behind
but we walk together in the cool morning and when we return I give him extra attention

Leaving
my face washed by dog tongue
I wonder if there is a lesson here for more human creatures

Leave a Reply

